Valerian

Grace Reinhard
2 min readJul 20, 2023

--

I talked to Vale tonight and I came to the realization that I have never been scared of dreaming big when I’m with him. I have never tried to water down my dreams or humble my ambitions when I’m talking to him. It’s just so validating to know that I still have someone I can share my big dreams with. No matter how unrealistic, big, or unattainable it is, he will always be excited for me.

For a while, I think I have forgotten what it was like to dream that big; to dream about a house in New York, a display of my name in magazines, and even an Oscar. He believes in me through all of those dreams, not caring whether it’s silly or not. I’ve been trying so hard to lower my expectations, not dreaming about big things because they’ll bite me in the ass and disappoint me in the future anyway, but I fully let my dreams (real dreams) out when I’m with Vale. He has never tried to talk me out of it or let me lower those high expectations because he “cares about me and doesn’t want me to get hurt”. I’ve always thought he was just playing along as I talk about my silly big dreams, but I think deep down he might truly believe in me. After all, he has big dreams too, so he understands, and I feel safe knowing that he doesn’t think my dreams are too big or too much.

I’m not sure he’ll ever see this message, but I hope he knows that he made me understand what it feels like to be understood; he made me understand how it feels like to be loved. Thank you for teaching me to shoot for the stars, Vale, I’m so lucky our paths crossed.

--

--

Grace Reinhard

An archive of letters to the hearts that have shaped mine—those who made me see it: I am not just lucky, I am protected.